Be a Wise Woman, Build Your House Up

1The wise woman builds her house, 
but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.
Proverbs 14:1 (NIV)

Build Your House Up

I’ve really been struggling to be the best mom I can be to our two children.

Our sixteen year old daughter and I have a wonderful relationship. I’m often told she’s a ‘Mini Me’. We have great communication, share the same sense of humour and a flare for the creative & dramatic. Our mother/daughter relationship isn’t perfect but it’s easy.

Our fourteen year old son and I have ‘locked horns’ since day one. He & I share moodiness, stubbornness and anxiousness, which makes for a more ‘prickly’ relationship. We both say and do things in a reactive way when annoyed. We say mean, nasty, hateful things when fueled by frustration and anxiety. The same words and actions that elevate my reactions are the same ones that ignite reactiveness within him. I recognize and know this but I still react stupidly.

I’m thankful today for this scripture because it reminds me that a wise woman seeks to be filled with the grace and discernment of the Lord. She doesn’t have to be alone in her struggles because she has God. A wise woman is quick to listen and slow to respond. A wise woman seeks God’s council in all things including, parenting. In stead, I default by reacting to irritants. This scripture reminds me to ‘press pause’, seek God’s council and grace in everything even, ‘prickly’ parenting situations.

Leave a Reply

